We are delighted to announce that two alumni of the Berlin Mathematical School (BMS) were among this year's Tiburtius award winners for their excellent dissertations.

Josué Tonelli Cueto received the third prize for his dissertation on "Condition and Homology in Semialgebraic Geometry". He completed his PhD under the joint supervision of Peter Bürgisser and Felipe Cucker (City U Hong Kong) and graduated from TU Berlin in 2019 with summa cum laude.

Marcin Lara, who graduated in 2019 from Freie Universität Berlin was awarded the recognition prize for his dissertation on "Homotopy Exact Sequence for the Pro-Étale Fundamental Group" under the supervision of Hélène Esnault.

Each year, the State Conference of Rectors and Presidents of Berlin's Universities (Landeskonferenz der Rektoren und Präsidenten der Berliner Hochschulen LKRP) awards three prizes and three recognition awards to doctoral students at Berlin universities for outstanding dissertations. The prize is named after Professor Joachim Tiburtius, who was Senator for Education in Berlin from 1951 to 1963.

Information about the Tiburtius Prize. Eligible for nomination are the professors of Berlin universities.

Press announcement (in German)